Clwb Tropicana @ The Craft Beer Co

tr_kegpclip_clubtropicana

I was planning to have a little introductory first post, so you can get to know me and my tastes, but last night I found a beer that had me weak at the knees and I just had to write about it.

During an unplanned visit to the Craft Beer Co, High Holborn, (A place I will write about later) I found my new favorite beer. I love me a fruity pale ale and Clwb Tropicana is as fruity as they get. The brew pours a gorgeous, cloudy, yellow colour, almost like orange juice, a look that I personally love. (Think Kernal pale ale or Beavertowns american pale)

The taste is smooth and hoppy with a huge burst of tropical fruit flavours like peach, pineapple and mango. This beer doesn’t feel strange like I find many peculiar/niche beers to be. It’s not like the chocolate larger you try for the novelty or the berry beer that’s nice but not drinkable by the pint. The flavours all work wonderfully together and whilst the taste is unusual, it’s not so far out of the box that you’d “only try a half.” I could drink this all evening, every evening.

Bottom line, it’s like a party in my mouth and everyone’s puking rainbows and hula dancing.

It was surprisingly difficult to find anywhere selling it online. A quick visit to the Tiny Rebel brewery website tells me it was released February 2016. Could be that it’s a seasonal thing and I was lucky to have a taste this late in the year. Please let me know if you know anywhere I can buy it!

  • Abv:5.5%
  • Style: Pale ale
  • appearance: Cloudy yellow, small white head.
  • Flavours: Peach, Passion fruit, Mango, slightly dry, hoppy finish.

Sidenote Sorry for the lack of pictures in this review. I didn’t take my camera out with me and my phone camera is broken. I’ll aim to have some snaps in future reviews.

Leave a Reply

